Tim Clark was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard, having shot 80 instead of the 79 he signed for because he had made a double-bogey at the par-4 13th instead of the bogey 5 on his card.
"I just lost my mind for a minute, which was a shame because even though I didn't play well, I was still looking forward to playing again tomorrow. I enjoy Bay Hill," said Clark, 36, who has been battling an elbow injury that has limited him to five rounds this year.
Interestingly, Clark also chose to sign for a higher score on another. Clark gave himself a double- bogey 6 when he scored a 5 on the par-4 8th hole, his penultimate hole of the round. Playing his second shot from the greenside hazard, he chipped up to 6 feet, but in the course of the shot, he slipped. He kept himself from falling by grounding his club in the hazard. That is not a violation of the rules if it occurs while keeping himself from falling, but Clark added a penalty shot to his score anyway. He then discovered after signing his card that he had made the scoring error on 13, which eliminated him from the tournament.